Almondbury with Farnley Tyas

Sharing the love of Christ in the community

Church YearThe Church Year

The Church Year is made up of six seasons and a number of Feast days.

The six seasons are: 
and Trinity. 

The Church Year also include periods known as Ordinary Time.

The Feast Days are: Christmas, The Naming of Jesus, Epiphany, The Baptism of Christ, The Transfiguration, Easter, The Ascension,  Pentecost, Trinity, All Saints Day and Christ The King. 

These seasons do not follow the calendar year from January to December but instead follow the life of Jesus, from the preparation for his birth in Advent through to his ascension into heaven. Each Liturgical Season is denoted by a particular colour which is used in church for altar coverings and clergy vestments.