The foundation stone of St Michael and St
Helen’s Church, a multi-purpose building, was laid in 1953 and the church
dedicated in 1955 to serve an estate already built on Fernside and a
development planned on Mountfield. It replaced two other daughter churches of
All Hallows’ on Somerset Road and at Fenay Bridge.
Recent major refurbishment saw the installation
of a good working kitchen and easy access toilets. A ramped approach was
made to the main door. An inspiring feature of the interior is a magnificent and
vibrant stained-glass window.
This church provides a focus for the post war
housing which surrounds the church. It plays host to many non- church
activities. These often become a vehicle for bringing people to God.